Beaujolais is the last district of Burgundy. It produces one of the most famous red wine in the world. Beaujolais takes it, generally, light and fruity flavour from the Gamy grape variety. It should be tasted slightly fresh and young.

There are four categories of wines in Beaujolais :

Cru Beaujolais, in Brouilly
, Cote De Brouilly, Morgon, Chénas, Chiroubles, Fleurie, Juliénas, Moulin à Vent, Régnié and Saint Amour, where the granitic soil gives one of the best Gamy.

Beaujolais in the northern part of the district where the soil is limestone.

Beaujolais Supérieur in the same part of the district but with one degree more of alcohol.

Beaujolais-Village in one of the 39 listed villages.

Gamay is the only grape which comes in the Beaujolais wines. In fact it gets its name from a hamlet near Puligny-Montrachet.

Gamay reaches perfection in the granitic soil of Beaujolais region. Gamay produces red grapes with white juice, smooth and fruity. The wine can be consumed young.

Else where, Gamay grape-variety does badly on light soils. However one can find admirable examples of acclimatisation, specially in Touraine and in the counties of Napa and San Benito where the wine is sold under the appellation "Gamay du Beaujolais"(?).

Aromas : strawberry, cherry, spice

There are no products to list in this category.
Credit Cards
Copyright © 2020 Babycham Liquors.